Best way to "re-glue" hardscape

Cajo

I was uprooting some plants in my 3-month old tank and my I was unaware that my arm was putting pressure on my drift wood and it came loose (was attached by hardscape glue and tissue). This is my first tank and I am new to the hobby so perhaps the way I glued it initially was inadequate in the first place. What is the best way to "re-glue" the wood to my stones without having to redo the tank/scape?

I was thinking of draining my tank until the attachment points (the attachment points are easily accessible) are above-water and glue it w/ tissue again and refill the tank after an hour or so to allow it to dry. Is this the right way to do it? Is it ok to glue it while the stone and wood are still wet?

Edited by Cajo
Missing points/grammar corrections

On 6/16/2024 at 10:46 AM, Tony s said:

@Katherine Ha. And here I am floating a Java fern and anubias. Because I wasn’t sure how to get it stuck on when both the plants and targets are wet

I sometimes use MD Fish Tanks's trick of gluing a small rock to the roots of an epiphyte, just enough to weigh it down, then place it wherever I want. The rock holds it down and the plant eventually roots in.

• Like 2

On 6/16/2024 at 8:02 AM, Cajo said:

I was uprooting some plants in my 3-month old tank and my I was unaware that my arm was putting pressure on my drift wood and it came loose (was attached by hardscape glue and tissue). This is my first tank and I am new to the hobby so perhaps the way I glued it initially was inadequate in the first place. What is the best way to "re-glue" the wood to my stones without having to redo the tank/scape?

I was thinking of draining my tank until the attachment points (the attachment points are easily accessible) are above-water and glue it w/ tissue again and refill the tank after an hour or so to allow it to dry. Is this the right way to do it? Is it ok to glue it while the stone and wood are still wet?