Thoughts on hexagonal tanks and stocking

Adron

Hi all! I have a space in my bedroom that would be perfect for a new planted tank. I've had lots of successes with standard tank sizes, and this time I'm considering a hexagonal, taller tank between 25 and 35 gallons. I've never done one of these before, and I know there are several reasons to approach with caution, given the limited lateral swimming space and the reduced water surface area. 

One setup I'm considering would be a 25-gallon hex tank with 3 moonlight gouramis and a small group of bleeding heart tetras. I'm pretty sure the gouramis would be a safe choice for this tank, but I'm less sure about the tetras. I adore bleeding hearts, and to me they seem to be less active than a lot of other, narrower-bodied tetras. What do you think about their chances of doing well in a hex, if I set it up with plenty of surface agitation and an air stone?

Happy to hear other suggestions as well!

• Like 1

Adequate oxygen / gas exchange is always the trick with that aquarium shape and dimension. A couple small sponge filters in the back with high aeration would probably solve things. Stocking depends on what particular fish species need.

Edited by Fish Folk
  • Like 1

On 4/2/2023 at 9:42 PM, Scapexghost said:

I remember an old coop video were at the store there was i psir of rams nesting in each corner of the tank, and the idea occured to me that with a hex tank you could do 6 pairs. Not sure if that helps

6 pairs of rams in a tank with less surface area than a 20 gallon?

Not the route I’d take. 

• Like 1

I had a 10 hex tank.

It was nice to look at, but netting guppies was all but impossible.

The net always seemed to reach across 2 walls and a corner. If you watch the side of the net, you miss the fish. If you watch the fish, you hit a corner.  With a bigger tank and a smaller net, you could have better luck than I did.