Aquascaping ideas and help?

Sartor

Hello all! I’m new to keeping bigger tanks, and am looking for some aquascaping advice!

I’m going for a heavily planted, no CO2 in a 20 gallon. My substrate is Fluval stratum, and I’m planning on using easy green. It’ll have blue neocardina, and I’m thinking 2 honey gourami, some ember tetras or chili rasbora. Maybe cories or a nerite or two. 

I’m Getting flamingo crypt and have some  of ludwegia repens, anubias nana, hygrophila difformis, elodea anacharis, pogostemon stellatus, and sagittaria subulata. Also have one that stays smaller I can’t remember the name of, but it’s up front to the left lol. 

2C235ED1-462D-47BD-90C1-65AE13D3C0B3.jpeg

CCABBC8A-5C45-49B4-918D-C3224300BBA2.jpeg

09672369-7C3D-424A-9308-1D0C52BE7098.jpeg

Edited by Sartor
Pictures updated.

Thank you! I’m going to try to look up videos on my day off to set an idea, mostly I’m just having problems figuring out how to arrange the plants! No matter which way I put them they don’t seem to look good. I’d be able to try different plants to if I can get an idea of what would go good. 

Videos of others will be great inspiration!

couple pointers for aquascape:

- You want your focal point and bulk of your aquascape off center. It looks more natural

- You either want your main feature to have depth or height or both. You can glue pieces of rock together using coral glue or fish safe glues

- plants in finished aquascapes either have been there for years or were planted so densely that long term they would die (temporary competition setups). So don’t fret on the plants looking sparse!

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

On 3/28/2023 at 9:24 AM, Sartor said:

Thank you! I’m going to try to look up videos on my day off to set an idea, mostly I’m just having problems figuring out how to arrange the plants! No matter which way I put them they don’t seem to look good. I’d be able to try different plants to if I can get an idea of what would go good.