Should I have a group of dither fish for cockatoo apisto pair?

Mattlikesfish36

I have been quarantining a pair of cockatoo apistogramma for a little over two months now and I want to transition them into my main 17 gallon aquarium soon. It currently has a starlight bristlenose pleco, 2 nerite snails, and a handful of amano shrimp. I see conflicting information about dither fish for apistos and I want to be sure I have the best possible preparation before I introduce them to the tank. I am thinking of adding a small group of pencilfish after reading that they can help the apistos feel safer, but have also seen people with experiences of aggressive and territorial males. Any recommendations on how I should proceed before introducing them to my aquarium? Thanks!

If they are male female a 17 gallon aquarium is too small and when they are of breeding age one of them is going to end up dead. Sorry for barer of bad news but aggression between male/female during breeding cycle can be quite significant. Typically the smallest aquarium recommended for these fishes is a 20 long (gallons is not important but floor space) along with proper scapeing so male/female can escape each other (caves are great for breeding but do not make the best hiding spaces from an angry fish).