Setup

Zac

Hey all,

I’m considering remodeling my 30 gallon and getting completely new fish/plants. Here’s my planned plants/fish I want to keep. I am new to plants so I’ve done a lot of research. The tank will be around 80°F

Fish:
2 apistos (haven’t decided on species)

3 hill stream loaches 

5-10 pencil fish

Plants:

Dwarf Sagittaria 

cryptocoryne wendtii 

pogostemon stellatus octopus

java moss

water sprite

apongoneton crispus

sort of anubias

I would like to get 2 apistos to breed and send the male into a 10 gal quarantine tank so the mother can raise the fry. Will the mother act too aggressive towards the pencil fish? Since pencil fish mouths are small I’m not too worried about them eating the fry. Will the fry be okay in a 30 gallon or would it be better to leave the pencil fish out and just have loaches and apistos?  I would like to cycle the tank with plants as well so any advice/input on that and the above would be great. I’ve watched all the aquarium co-op videos on it and Irene’s but any other tips they may have not addressed would help

• Like 1

I can't give you breeding or fish advice, but I'll share what to expect when you re-scape a tank as that is what I've been working on lately with my 46G.

When I moved my 46G at the end of last year, I tried to keep everything intact and didn't change anything at that point because I wanted to maintain the nitrogen cycle and beneficial bacteria (BB) as much as possible. I was also keeping the same inhabitants. The move went well, and my cycle stayed intact, but then 2 weeks later my sister showed up with some half-frozen fish I ended up taking in. With the increased bio load, I was able to maintain the nitrogen cycle, but I did have some diatoms show up. I no longer had my "well-seasoned" tank even though it was "cycled."