Ceramic, porcelain, china, resin, etc

Alesha

According to many paint/enamel manufacturers most paints are completely inert and harmless once fully cured. 

That doesn't mean all however and that doesn't mean that if they get compromised (scratch, breaks, dents) that issues couldn't arise from the metal underneath. 

To be safe I'd most likely steer clear of things like that unless your absolutely sure of its origins and the impacts it might have on your closed ecosystem.

Also I agree with Paul. Nearly all ceramic should be fine to use (bar maybe some tiny amounts of carbonates or other KH/GH/pH buffing changes but they are so minor and can easily be pre-soaked or water changed out. 

• Thanks 1

When I'm not keeping fish (aka my full time job) is in ceramic arts, and I studied glaze chemistry in college. 99.9% of ceramic surfaces are fine, but if something has you concerned, you can do a lemon test to see if it will leach.

Copper is probably the most common thing that will leach. If you have a green or blue glaze that turns pink when you leave a lemon on it for 1/2 hr, it is leaching copper. Occasionally barium will leach also. Rarely lead (because it's almost never used anymore in ceramics, but if you were putting an antique ceramic pre-1950 in your tank, you might worry about lead).

A matte surface is more likely to leach compared to a glossy/glassy surface in ceramics. 

Ceramic Lemon Test Instruction

Edit to add- Bisque ware will almost always be fine, unless it is a red earthenware that was made with barium. If it's work you're making, you can ask your clay supplier if they have barium in their clay recipe. Barium is nasty stuff, some manufactures put it in to stop surface scumming (aka white buildup of sodium) on greenware in red clays. If it's commercial purchased work, it probably doesn't have barium. 

Edited by Jessica.
  • Like 4
  • Thanks 2