Hello

I have bought a wonderful rabbit snail, but I caught it nibbling at my java ferns and after a quick google search they tend to have a appetite for ferns. I was wondering If anyone can tell me if they will try to eat other plants. I know Anubias isn't tempting enough but are there any others, personally I don't want to risk it as aquarium plants can be a bit pricey here in the UK. I have done research but this isn't exactly a broad topic.

(this is my first time on a forum so I hope I'm doing this correctly.) 

Kind regards.

1.jpg

0.jpg

Thanks for your reply Ben,

The only way I'll know it was after the algae is too put a few of my baby ferns down on the substrate and wait. At the moment I've raised the larger one onto rocks to keep them out the way. I might go with my little experiment. When I purchased the rabbit I can definitely say it was attached to the java fern and people have said online they can go to town on ferns. I do have two Nerites because I wouldn't have pegged Rabbit snails as heavy algae eaters but this is my first one. Anyway I standby 

Thanks again

FAFNF.

I also never noticed rabbit snails eating any plants (mine much prefer blanched carrots and zucchinis). They scrape algae from the leaves, but the leaves themselves are intact, even the tender ones, like cabomba and water wisteria. Sometimes the snails drag themselves over the leaves that are close to the substrate and do a bit of damage this way, but usually it's a very minor damage in my experience. 

Thanks for the reply Fonske