Mystery Snails and Cardinal tetras

calafish

Hi All, I am a newbie and was curious as to how mystery snails and cardinal tetras make good tank mates, as they both enjoy different water parameters? For example mystery snails like a pH above 7.2, yet cardinal tetras like a pH 6-7(nearer to 6.0 is ideal) etc? I was hoping to get some clarification on this, and some solid advice on this?

Thanks

I have kept both of them in my community tank with a soild 7-7.1ph. I find that Mystery Snails are a very hardy creature and can withstand most water parameters. My biggest tip is to not chase the ph, but to keep it stable. Your cardinal tetras and mystery snails should be fine in the same tank.

• Like 1

As @James Black said much more important to keep PH stable. Both will survive outside of their “ideal” range that “ideal” range is more for that extra little bit for optimal conditions to breed but still isn’t a breaking factor. Keep plenty of calcium in the water for the snails, wonder shells are good for that. And feed the cardinals a varied diet and you should be fine.

• Like 3

Mystery snails can survive ph lower than 7 once they passed the early juvenile stage and have a decently thick shell. The thing to watch is the shell will erode below 7..  the lower the ph the faster it happens which is a health risk over extended periods of time to the snail. 

Edited by Guppysnail
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I'm not an expert on this but I will tell you my personal experience.

TLDR: Cardinal Tetra's and Mystery Snails seem compatible to me.