Japanese Eel Tank - Help

Okesa

Hello! I have a bit of a strange request, and given how informative the Aquarium Co-Op YouTube channel and website are, I thought I would see if the forum could give me some advice.

I work in a school in Japan, and over the last 6 months have been working on upgrading the neglected fish and turtle tanks at the school. The last creature left that needs a life upgrade is the school's pet eel. It is a Japanese freshwater eel (unagi) who was gifted to the school around 5-ish years ago after the students took a field trip to an eel restaurant. From what I have been told, there were originally 2 eels, but the other one died (possibly was eaten by this one?).

Because these eels are not commonly kept as pets, there isn't really much information available online about tank setups. It is currently in a tank that will hold a max of about 17 gallons (but is only actually filled up to around 12.5 gallons) with sand for substrate, a tube to hide in, and a bubbler. There is also filter, but it is broken. I know that this is way too small, as most recommendations I can find online for other eel species say you should use anywhere from a 30 to 50 gallon tank. From what I have read, eels prefer slow moving water, so I was looking at getting a large sponge filter, but I have also read that eels are messy and might need something more powerful. Most places also recommend a tank heater, but I'm not sure if unagi are quite as tropical as most species normally kept as pets. 

Basically, if anyone can give me any kind of recommendations for filtration, if a heater is necessary or not, tank mates that are the least likely to be eaten (even if fish are all not ok, some kind of snails or something to act as a cleanup crew would probably be a good idea), etc. Una-chan (the eel) and I would really appreciate it. 

• Like 1