Newbie breeding journal - black rams

Snjchris

I started the fish keeping hobby in October 2020 and got fascinated by Dean's black rams really quickly. After they laid their first batch of eggs, it quickly turned my hobby from a purely fish keeping one to a fish keeping + breeding one. 

This forum has helped me a lot with raising black ram fry, thanks to the awesome members so I thought I should give back by documenting the mistakes I made and the things I learned along the journey about raising black ram fry. I hope that other newbie hobbyists like me can use this to avoid this mistakes or show a way of raising fry without having a auto water change system. I work a full-time job so I don't have time to water change everyday and try to have setups that are the least demanding as possible. 

Disclaimer: These are purely my experiences, what I have been doing and what worked for my setup/situation. It does not mean that it is the right way. I am still learning as I go. At the start, I would have batches that completely wiped, to slowly raising 14 fry, to having hundreds right now. 

My setup: 4 tanks

1 breeding tank where the parents lay eggs (around 81F): I keep my rams in my display tanks - 75 and 65 gallon but you only need one. I use Dean's trick of using pot dish as an area for the parents to lay eggs. I didn't need to provide any cover. The rams would lay in open space, just like Dean said. 

1 x 40 gallon breeder tank to hold small/medium ram fry (~83.5 - 84F)

20210826_172109.jpg.802d7e034b76252d2aacb22196f15567.jpg

1 x 15 gallon tank to hold small ram fry (~85F)

20210809_182143.jpg.6a56ea0dae7d3a3d3fde1b49d10f76dc.jpg

1 x 5 gallon tank to hold tiny, days old ram fry (~84-85F)

20210826_172045.jpg.cd2e826b3f7d95949b31de077ec94a44.jpg

Specimen boxes to hatch ram fry (eggs on stone/dish -> wrigglers -> free swimming). You need an air stone for each box and methylene blue! I use dishwasher to wash them after I am done. Call me lazy 😛