Plants have Algae

Bev C

hello  

i am new to plants in my aquarium never had problems with Algae before  with fake plants and bristolnose pelco .. 

but i am having Algae with my live  plants  in low tech no c2o tank  i have 2 Windelov" Java Fern and  2 Banana plant   and 1 Anubias Barteri  and i have all in one Easy Green Fertilizer   my plants specially Banana plants  have the algae bad on them and also Banana Plants have holes in the leaves..

i have clean and do water changes and it still comes back  been doing this for 3 months and the Algae is getting worse specially on the plants .. do i need the Easy green Carbon and Iron  too?   will that help  ? i use sand  and the Java and Anubias is on rocks .. Banana plant on top of sand  i  have a planted light and have adjusted the light schedule down to only 8 hours a day    but the aquarium sits with no lights or windows near it except aquarium lights .. i also adjusted the food on my fish feeding  to lower the waste  i was thinking of getting the Easy root tabs  for the banana plants .. if i get the algae under control i was going to get a few root plants too 

thanks for any help it is greatly appreciated 

Edited by Bev C

@Some_sugar thank you very much I will try that for sure ,, I have went  24 hours with no light before trying to lower light 

but never covered the tank and no light  for more then 24. hours  will try 2-3 days  ..  it is the green algae ....

i have been doing 2 water changes per week instead of one  and cleaning spot with a credit card when i see them  ,, do not have razor blade ..

also been cleaning sponge filter when i do water change it seems algae growing on that too ..  i might have to boil sponge filter or replace it does not get better  ( hate to  boil it since it is cycled and came from old tank when i upgraded  tank in Sept) 

i have a canister filter too along  with the sponge filter , my bristolnose  pelco loves hanging on sponge ..