BABY SHRIMP???

I'm new to shrimp keeping and the only shrimp in my tank are cherry shrimp and 3 amano shrimp.  I was getting ready to do a water change earlier and saw these tiny little clear/beige "things".  I took a video so I could zoom in to see what they were.  I've always read that cherries are still red when little and that amanos will not hatch eggs in freshwater.  Is it true that cherries are red when they're tiny or are these tiny cherry shrimp?  Now....I'm scared to do a water change because they're so little.  Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

20240511_211905.jpg

20240511_211905.jpg

• Love 1

Posted (edited)

Congrats on your first shrimplets! It’ll be fun when you have a whole colony that started from just 3. 

Amanos absolutely need brackish water to hatch the eggs and raise. I have a male and female and the amount of  eggs I’ve seen on her over the years is insane. I’d be rich if I cracked the code to hatch them in freshwater!

As far as water changes, consider something like this:

IMG_7094.jpeg.d2e368d4cf81db7cb983356d1fd5d9d2.jpegIMG_7095.jpeg.d3d32121ae6c2deda7abb5493f490e5e.jpeg

It’s just a piece of 3/8” vinyl tubing, and then I cut a piece of a coarse sponge pad a little bigger than the tubing. Shove that piece of sponge into the tubing, leaving the end flared out of the tubing. This has helped tremendously over the years. Water still flows well, but I don’t fear sucking up shrimplets or fry, and I can still drain water hands-free.

If you cut the sponge too small it gets sucked up into the hose and is a pain to get back out, or could get siphoned all the way through and then there’s no protection. Too big and it’ll restrict the flow too much. You have to Goldie Locks it (get it just right), but it’s been great for me.

Edited by AllFishNoBrakes
  • Like 1
  • Love 1

On 5/11/2024 at 10:47 PM, AllFishNoBrakes said:

Congrats on your first shrimplets! It’ll be fun when you have a whole colony that started from just 3.