My poor shrimp...

Greetings- I am new to trying to raise shrimp- This is my second attempt to start a colony, but I'm still seeing a bit of die off so want to get some advice:

Tank: several-month seasoned 10g, planted and a couple of small/adolescent guppies. gravel substrate, chalia wood and indian almond leaf in for a few weeks. Plenty of algae.  Very hard water, pH mid 7s, undetectable ammonia/nitrites/nitrates. 

1st attempt: 12 cherry red shrimp from LFS. Did not drip acclimate- lost most pretty quick :classic_sad: but amazingly 2 survived and are doing well going on 2 months- they look nice and healthy!

2nd attempt: 20 cherry shrimp from aqua huna. Arrived within 48hr of order (not too hot/cold out during transit). Let box open for a few hours at room temperature. Drip acclimated over 2 hours. I noticed by the end of the 2 hours many of them were moving very slowly, or doing alot of backward jumping. Moved them to the tank--> I've already lost 4 in the first 24 hrs.  The rest seem to be swimming and eating ok.  

- Is it common to lose so many when they come in the mail? They looked pretty good out of the box. 

-Any other tips for acclimation to improve survival? Drip over longer period? I got very nervous when i saw how poorly they were moving in the acclimating bucket.  I tried to follow all the tips I could find online.....

Thanks! Any help much appreciated!

Your acclimation method seems right on to me. I had several die when I first added my cherry shrimp. I chalk it up to water parameters being different and stress. Still, enough did survive and took hold. Three and a half years later I have more than I know what do with and they’re the hardiest things in my tank. My advice, stay positive and keep up the good work. You got this.