Can I keep extra plants in containers or buckets for grow out and for temporary holding?

I have some plants (java ferns, crypts, bucephalandra) from one of my 30 gallon aquariums that have been growing a lot and I need to start to trim. I want to keep the pieces I trim and propagate them for future use. But I don't have any space in my other tanks to keep them and I want to put the plants somewhere where they can grow out. I don't have any extra empty tanks, but I do have some clear tubs and containers and even a couple of 5 gallon buckets. I was wondering if it is possible to put plants in a container or a 5 gallon bucket, with appropriate lighting of course, but without a filter? I have some experience with aquarium plants, and I have been successful growing the plants in my current tanks. How should I go about doing something like this? Thanks for reading!

On 2/24/2024 at 10:03 PM, lefty o said:

plants dont need a filter, they are a filter. keep them wet, give them some light, and some fertilizer. in a bucket or tub is fine.

Oh duh! I knew that, why didn't I think about that haha. That's why I keep plants in my tanks, because they're good filters. 🤦‍♂️

Thanks!

On 2/24/2024 at 10:21 PM, Tony s said:

I might throw an airstone in there if you have a spare. It’ll bring in carbon dioxide and keep the water from stagnating 

@Tony s I just so happen to have an extra air stone lying around. I'll be sure to add that when I'm setting it up. Thanks!

Do you think I need a small heater as well, or will a 70 degree room temp be just fine?

On 2/24/2024 at 10:55 PM, Tony s said:

Shouldn’t. But maybe? I’d check on the temperature range of some of your plants. And it als depends on how long they’re going to be there 

@Tony s It'll be java ferns and some buce and maybe some little crypts. I likely won't keep them there for long, but I'll be sure to take the proper precautions to ensure the temperature isn't cool for them.

• Like 1