Is diatom algae bad or not?

I dont think so. I'm not an algae expert but all of my tanks have this type of algae and all my tanks have live plants that are doing fine. I must say tho, my plecos love this algae.

Also, when I had ghost shrimp, they loved this algae as well.

Also, what kind of stand is your tank on?

• Like 2

On 1/27/2024 at 7:14 PM, JS Fish 1324 said:

I dont think so. I'm not an algae expert but all of my tanks have this type of algae and all my tanks have live plants that are doing fine. I must say tho, my plecos love this algae.

Also, when I had ghost shrimp, they loved this algae as well.

Also, what kind of stand is your tank on?

F1ABD32B-50CB-44D5-A95D-5ADF6EF124F9.jpeg

7E557D62-6E60-4BF7-9C76-9D7A39DEF510.jpeg

Not the greatest I know 

• Like 1

Right. completely normal. Although, I did get overwhelmed with it before. Used a black sand from a big box, must have had extra silicates. it covered everything in a 1/4 inch layer. had to clean my anubias off for a month. thought they might die from shading. And had a dark glow fish tank with lots of glow fish decorations. that was a complete pain to clean and some of the decorations never returned. brown algae and blue lights do not mix 🙂 

best remedy are snails and otocinclis

• Like 1

On 1/27/2024 at 7:53 PM, AllFishNoBrakes said:

Diatoms are a normal part of every tanks beginning stages. All 14 of my tanks went through a diatom phase. It just means your tank is coming alive. 

Thanks 

On 1/27/2024 at 8:03 PM, Tony s said:

Right. completely normal. Although, I did get overwhelmed with it before. Used a black sand from a big box, must have had extra silicates. it covered everything in a 1/4 inch layer. had to clean my anubias off for a month. thought they might die from shading. And had a dark glow fish tank with lots of glow fish decorations. that was a complete pain to clean and some of the decorations never returned. brown algae and blue lights do not mix 🙂