10 gal with Khuli Loaches?

alexjmore

Hi friends!

I'm a newbie. Literally have never kept fish aside from a tank we had in my home as a child. I have a lil 10 gal aquarium with a female betta, some ghost shrimp, a mystery snail, and a blonde African dwarf frog. I'm seeing a lot of differing opinions on whether it's okay to keep khuli loaches in a 10gal tank. Even on the Aquarium Co-op blog, I'm seeing opposing opinions! In the Khuli Loach Care article, it says 20gal minimum, but in the Top 10 Fish for a 10gal Tank article it lists khuli's as #4. I'd love to have 2 or 3 in my 10gal as I love them, but I obviously also want them to be happy and healthy. It's a planted tank with lots of hidey holes and my female betta is curious but not aggressive. I have a tiny studio apartment, so I don't have room for a bigger tank, unfortunately. (MAYBE a 15gal if I could find one.)

A 10 is a bit small as it doesn't provide much room for them to swim; they do better in a 20 long or 29. There is a smaller kuhli like loach call shelfordi (pangio shelfordii) that works better in a 10. If you do get them they prefer very soft substrate (as do kuhli); for digging.

Edited by anewbie

I currently have 4 Kuhli Loaches (Pangio Kuhli) in  a 10 gallon with a male Betta for company. The tank is heavily planted and they are doing great. I've had the tank running for over 3 years without any problems. I also have another 10 gallon that I was given by a coworker getting out of the hobby (her kids lost interest). It contained 3 Black Kuhli Loaches (Pangio Oblonga), 1 Red Eye Tetra, 1 Glow Tetra and a Siamese Algae Eater. Before I could make a decision which of my tanks to put them in and quarantine more Red Eye Tetras, the Kuhli Loaches decided to give me about (I forget the exact number) 50 babies. I think they were pretty happy in their tank considering they decided to breed.