I desperately need advice about setting up a new aquarium

Herefishie

I decided to get into the hobby about a year ago. Being a novice, I ordered a 15 gallon Fluval Flex kit. Pretty much a no-brainer since it basically came with everything. I have enjoyed it but the one thing I don't like is I have it on my kitchen counter and in order for me to clean the back sections, I have to pull the tank forward. I hate having to do that because I'm afraid at some point it's going to break. I've been hearing people mention long aquariums. I think I would like to try something like that that's longer/wider and not so tall. This Flex is 14 1/2 inches tall. 

My dilemma comes from being completely clueless on all the components I would need to order. I see long tanks on Amazon but I have absolutely no clue as far as lids, lights, etc.

I would like a lid as opposed to just a light because I have a mystery snail who loves to try to climb out of the tank. I just feel overwhelmed with what goes with what and what would work. Thank you so much in advance.

• Like 1

Re getting behind the existing Flex, how often do you try to clean back there? I'm wondering if you might integrate it with water changes? Eg the tank would be easier to shift if it wasn't full. You might also consider some sort of metal plate under the tank, so it slides better. I think the Flex has a glass bottom with no supporting frame, so you do need a foam mat, but if you put a piece of think plastic or metal under the mat, it should slice fairly well. Or even take packing tape and tape it smooth side down on the under side of the mat. 

Re sizing a lid, in your mind are you seeing the new tank as rimless, or with rim? 

On 9/18/2023 at 12:28 PM, TOtrees said: