Breeding livebearers

Born to Breed

The last time I bred and raised any FW livebearers like platys, mollies and swordtails I was in high school, that was fifty years ago 🤣  I've been strictly marine for the past 30 years or so but now I'm returning to my roots. I have a lot of experience breeding marine species but this is totally different.  Is it normal for a female to drop just a few fry per day over several days?  I thought they'd all come at once but no, I have 3 platy's and a molly all doing the same thing, a few per day for several days.  ????????? 

• Like 3

I'm struggling with this as well. Trying so hard to get fry and it's been months. One of the females is going to release any moment now and it's just a bit awkward to judge the timing.

In my other tank, there's 4 females and 2 males and they just don't seem interested.

Maybe they had their fry already and they didn't make it or they were just absorbed. So difficult to judge.

I also see both patterns, ie a few here and there vs all at once. I think there is some choice by the female, and I suspect that choice is driven by a few factors. Things that will precipitate or incentivize a larger drop include "this place is awesome, and there is lots of food and cover for my babies", and on the complete other end of the spectrum, "my survival here is not assured, I better get rid of this load that's slowing me down so I can live to breed another day". I've often found that a location change (moving fish between tanks) will precipitate a large drop. Eg one summer I bought a very pregnant swordtail and moved her right away into a cycled and ready back yard tub, empty of fish but with green water and good cover, and the pond was full of babies the next day.