Tank temperature

Izzyf

I’m having difficulty keeping my tank temperature consistent.

It was averaging 21-23 degrees however where I live has had a heat wave and the temperature is now averaging 28 degrees.

I have tried turning off the lights/using one light, installed an air stone and left the lid off. If I use a desk fan it does cool it by about 2 degrees but as I can’t leave it on constantly I’m at a bit of a loss. I’m new to fishkeeping so I am unsure what I should do. 

Does anyone have any suggestions, as I was looking to keep a common goldfish but my concern is that it would be too warm and cause ammonia spikes. 

I also make my own ice and dump it in the tank and or use the fan and put it on top of the tank. But, I keep fish that handle the temps I have most of the year. In one part of the house I have a tank and in summer I dont open the drapes to not have sun or too warm air in and I do cold water replacement. But all fish there can tolerate up to 26C. In other room where I know is hot, I keep shrimp that can survive up to 30C and endlers, which are indestructible.

There are several ways for the surface fans and the surface agitations to cool down the tank, but rule of thumb is, check the average temps in each month in your room and get a fish that will like that range

Edited by beastie
typo
  • Thanks 1

What temp is your room?  Cooling the room will help and probably help you to. 

Keep sunlight off the tank, and small water changes will help drop the temp.

Last summer my Shrimp tank ( smallest tank in warmest spot) got over 30C I just popped an ice pack in the filter flow to chill it down during the hottest parts of the day.  Most fish cope fine with temperature swings they are a natural thing as long as the water stays well oxygenated they should be fine sweating things out with you.  That is the main thing with temp warm water doesn't hold as much O2 as cold so that air line was the best thing you could have done.