Whisker shrimp or just a really big ghost shrimp?

I’m not an expert but whisker shrimp have fairly significant pinchers on extra long legs that reach toward the front.  I don’t think they’re on the first set of legs, though, I think they’re on the second or third set of legs?  I can’t quite tell from your pic if the second set has bigger pinchers and definitely don’t see them on the first set of legs.  You’re shrimp’s legs are not as prominent as the pics I’ve seen but there could have been an injury that temporarily reduced the size of the big pinchers through a couple molts.  Plus there’s more than one species called “whisker shrimp” and more than one species called “ghost shrimp” which can make it much harder to tell.

All that said, I would watch behavior closely but I certainly don’t see the obvious identifiers of whisker shrimp that I remember in your shrimp.

• Like 2

On 6/2/2023 at 4:11 PM, Odd Duck said:

I’m not an expert but whisker shrimp have fairly significant pinchers on extra long legs that reach toward the front.  I don’t think they’re on the first set of legs, though, I think they’re on the second or third set of legs?  I can’t quite tell from your pic if the second set has bigger pinchers and definitely don’t see them on the first set of legs.  You’re shrimp’s legs are not as prominent as the pics I’ve seen but there could have been an injury that temporarily reduced the size of the big pinchers through a couple molts.  Plus there’s more than one species called “whisker shrimp” and more than one species called “ghost shrimp” which can make it much harder to tell.

All that said, I would watch behavior closely but I certainly don’t see the obvious identifiers of whisker shrimp that I remember in your shrimp.

That’s what I thought, I even asked the employee at the shop and he said they didn’t have any (they are trying to get them in because they can live with larger fish) 

I just wasn’t sure because THATS ONE DAMB BIG SHRIMP!!!