Java moss - not so simple?

In a (to be fair, 9-year-old) video, Cory says Java moss is the easiest plant to grow, and a near-certain winner in beginner tanks.

I'm not a beginner by any stretch, but I've started to wonder if anyone has a bit more of a complicated history with the moss? Java used to be an absolute gangbusters success in my Fluval Flex 15-gallon tank; I never even bought it, it just snuck out of some driftwood I purchased and slowly bloomed into a gorgeous cloud of green in the background. 

I've since moved twice, and the moss has never been quite as happy. It's the same tank, but moved across town (Los Angeles) into conditions of VERY hard water (Altadena). Always at the far end of the charts on the test strip, around 150 KH and 180 GH. I also see a more-or-less steady pH of 7.5. I use Seachem Purigen in the filter and have a lot of other plants, as well as 4 nerites and 9 glass bloodfin tetras, all of which seem to do fine. But Java moss has just been much more sluggish and reluctant to pop off during this new chapter for my 15 gallons. None of the inhabitants are munching on it, and water parameters are healthy. 

Curious if anyone else has a complicated experience with java moss, and maybe if anyone suspects hardness has some effect? 

When I first started keeping fish and plants Java moss did very well for me; well enough that I sold some.  Since then it has dwindled down until it's all gone.

I also have hard water, with pH higher than yours (8.2).  I suspect that's the issue, though why it did well at first makes me wonder if it's something else.

Agree it's finicky.  I have very soft water and mine wouldn't grow for the first year, but then when nitrate level in the tank got up to 20-40 (as fish multiplied) it took off.  Also, when the tank was newer and there was a lot of algae, that really seemed to inhibit the java moss.