Soil in a Planted Aquarium

Hi all, I’m relatively new to fish keeping so I apologise if my question comes across as a silly one! 

I have a 100L tank that I intended to use Tropica soil as my base. I set up eveything correctly, but when I went to add water as carefully as I could the water had turned quite murky as you can see from the photo. 

I had spoken to the staff in the pet shop who said I could use soil on its own, but I feel that I have done something wrong for the water to be that murky. 

Is it a case that I would need to use a layer of gravel on top to stop this from happening? 

Thanks x

F7831EDB-C01B-415C-BBC2-83FCF378C42B.jpeg

It would help to cap the soil with sand or gravel. if you want to cap the soil just make sure you rinse the gravel or sand first and then put it on top of the soil. also when you fill the tank back up, dont pour the water directly on the substrate. Instead you could put a bowl or a plate in the tank and pour the water into it so that the water does not stir up the gravel too much. good luck! 😄

• Thanks 1

You could use gravel, but I prefer sand.  I'd recommend going to a swimming pool supply store and buying a bag of pool filter sand.  It's relatively inexpensive (especially compared to sand sold and labeled specifically for aquariums), and will need little to no rinsing.  I've used two different brands and didn't rinse either one.  One didn't cloud the water at all, and the other one did very little (it was cleared up the next morning).

I've heard reports from people who bought pool filter sand at one of the big box home improvement chain stores and it needed a good bit of rinsing.

Edited by JettsPapa
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1