Are platies smarter then we think?

Theplatymaster

I will preface this to say I am no novice to the Platy Fish, I obsess over them, and try to learn about them as much as possible. I will also say i can breed this fish till the cows come home. This post is not "I cant breed platies, Help" but "Ive noticed something odd, have you?"