Here because I'm not so good with plants...

Val

My name, obviously, is Val.  I've been keeping fish for 30 years now.  At one point I had over 170 gallons of tanks, but discovered that after a year, the maintenance was too much and I seriously scaled down.  I primarily keep goldfish, just started a new 55 gallon tank after my son decided he wanted my old 62g tank with goldies for his new place.  I thought that just the one tank was going to be sufficient, but I saw a guppy strain called red endlers, and OMG, they are the most gorgeous fish I've seen.  At the same time, my wife saw the Fluval Flex and thought it looked cool, and she wants me to start another tank (now that my son has moved on, we have a new den we're setting up.)  

So, I am pondering doing a planted tank.  (My goldie tanks are all plastic/silk and I've been happy with that.)  I've tried planted tanks twice and failed utterly.  All with what I was told were easy plants:  crypts, swords and java fern.  Really depressing...  But hope springs eternal.

• Like 1

I think plants that survive depend a lot on water. I got lots of "easy" plants and quickly saw the deaths of pogostemon stella, java moss, and water sprite. I tried java moss in several tanks. It always died. I tried it one more time in my shrimp only tank that has remineralize RO water and so far it's staying alive! I have very soft well water that seems to do well for anubius, java fern, some crypts, guppy grass, frogbit and susswassertang. I'd recommend try getting small amounts of various plants and see what works. Then you wont be too invested in something that won't do well for you.

• Like 1