White spot with hairs on Betta fin

Catherine Whale

Hello everybody~

Does anyone have any ideas as to what this white thing is on my Betta's ventral fin? I have him in a 10 gallon planted tank with bladder snails. His behavior seems normal. I've had him for about 4 months. This is actually my first fish. I tried to research what this growth could be, but nothing I found seems to look like that. I was hoping someone with more experience could have an answer.

Water ParametersIMG_20201031_114831139.jpg.a6f2ae114e09a0df472d6aa461c9cbd3.jpg

PH-8.2

Nitrate-5

Nitrite-0

Ammonia-0

GH-100

KH-160

Tetra Test Strips

Thank you~

• Like 1

Hey Catherine, welcome to the forum! Beautiful fish!

I’m not an expert but my best guess about that spot is that it’s a bit of algae growing on a wound. I had a pigmy cory that had white algae growing all over one fin one day. I set up a quarantine tank for him but the next day when I went to move him, his fin was clear! So if you just noticed this spot, I’d wait a day or two and see if it gets worse or if it clears up. In the meantime it might be good to pick up some fungus meds just in case though. 

Actually, based on the video I’m more worried about the fact that your betta is swimming kind of sideways and doesn’t seem to be able to stay upright. I’m also concerned about the lump on the back half of his body—I don’t know what it is but it doesn’t seem normal. Maybe someone else can chime in about that. Has it been there a long time?

Also a question about your tank: what‘s the temperature?

Thanks for the reply Hobbit!