Undergravel filter, high pH, nitrates, and algee question

I've been keeping aquariums for about 37 years now, but this past spring I decided to change it up a bit and decided to try a planted aquarium.  Since doing so I've had a really hard time keeping the nitrates in check.  I have some thoughts on what may be occurring, but I thought I would post here to see if anyone had other thoughts.  The aquarium in question is a 29 gallon aquarium, standard aquarium gravel with an undergravel filter, a HOB filter and a small canister on it.  Historically I've been able to keep the nitrates in check with water changes and throughly vacuuming out the gravel.  When I first put plants in I did the rookie mistake...I put easy green in once a week, added a few toot tabs, cranked up the light, and since i use soft water and have a few mystery snails in the aquarium i add Seachem Equilibrium to the aquarium....all said and done, i did an awesome job growing algee.  Since then I turned the light back down, stopped putting in easy green and root tabs.  I do still use the Seachem Equilibrium and every day or 2 I hit it with Easy Carbon.  By doing that the algee is better under control, but the nitrates are still going nuts, measuring 100-200, even with 70% water changes each week.  The water here is very high pH, 8.4.  The aquarium is fairly well stocked with smaller fish, though not more than I have historically done.  It's mostly platties, cories, a bristle nose pleco and clown pleco.  I am questioning the test a little and wondered if any of you have ran into test strips misbehaving if you have high pH soft water and add Seachem Equilibrium to the water.  In many instances the fish don't behave as if the water is high nitrates, but there have been some instances over the past couple months where they got more sluggish and didn't deed as well as they usually do...so I'm not totally convinced the test is bonk, though when I test the water in those instances it still shows 100-200 on