Tail Fin Rot Suggestion

Ahughes1805

Hello,

I am new to the hobby (tanks been up for 3 weeks) and seeking some advice for Tail Fin Rot.

About a week and a half ago I ran into a random nitrite spike which led to be 5.0 or greater (during this time I was doing a 10% water change daily) while ammonia stayed at 0 and nitrates at 40. I utilized Frtizyme 7 and within 2-days my nitrites went down to 0.

During the nitrite spike the mollies I have in the tank started developing what looked like ich. Closer inspection lead to what appeared to be tail fin rot. I utilized Melafix for 7-days based on the directions, last night was the last day of the 7. Today I did a 25% water change.

Looking at the fish, only 1 molly has 1-2 white ich like specks and the tail fin rot seemed to stop/slow down on all the others. Now checking on the neons in the tank, 1 has a white colored on the top tip of the tail fin (not cotton/fuzzy) and another has the shredded look on the tail fin. I am hoping to have some suggestions on other forms of treatment/recommendations for fin rot since it moved to 2 neons. Can said treatments/recommendations be used with all the fish since I do not have a quarantine tank at this time.

20 gal tank, planted with anubis/amazon sword/java fern. Water is RO.

Fish are fed once a day along with what can be eaten in a 1-2 minute period.

Heater set to 79 degrees

PH:  7.0-7.2

Ammonia:  0

Nitrite: 0

Nitrate: 0

Thanks.

Welcome to the forums.  If you can, please provide photos of what is going on.