Med Trio on Neon Tetras?

lynxfishy

Hello everyone!

I recently bought 6 neon tetras from Petco to stock my 10 gallon black water tank. Unfortunately they all passed away and I was wondering if it was because of the med trio and the stress? I put them in a 5 gallon quarantine tank and dosed the correct amount for the med trio, but I was wondering if dosing all three meds at the same time was too much for them and caused the death? If I get more neons would it be better to dose the med trio one per week? Thanks for any advice/tips, I'm still pretty new to the hobby and need all the advice I can get lol. 

I'm so sorry you lost your fish. That stinks and has happened to all of us at one point or another.

Have you tried running any tests on the water (ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, pH)?  Was the tank cycled? What temp was the water? Did you use a dechlorinator?

I noticed you are using a 5 gallon tank.  The med trio has a 10-gallon dosage. Did you halve the medication level?

Edited by Chick-In-Of-TheSea

On 6/6/2022 at 5:47 PM, Chick-In-Of-TheSea said:

I'm so sorry you lost your fish. That stinks and has happened to all of us at one point or another.

Have you tried running any tests on the water (ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, pH)?  Was the tank cycled? What temp was the water? Did you use a dechlorinator?

I noticed you are using a 5 gallon tank.  The med trio has a 10-gallon dosage. Did you halve the medication level?

Upon looking at my tank I see I have one little neon left! I tested my water and Ammonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate are very high. I should have been checking the water more often and sooner, as I am starting to wonder if the tank wasn't cycled and that's what killed everything. I put a sponge filter in the quarantine tank that had come from a cycled 10 gallon aquarium, I thought that would immediately cycle this tank?