Help, Ottos losing their tails fast!

Janel R

Hello Aquarium coop community! This is my first time sharing anything here, and I probably should have done so earlier because my story has several facets at this point. I love this community and appreciate everything you do here❤️

I’m a pretty novice fish keeper. I have one 10 gallon tank that has been set up since after Christmas of 2021. It has all live plants with two filters since I’m keeping an extra going for the quarantine tub. The only inhabitants of the tank right now are three otocinclus catfish and two assassin snails (oh, and I’ve been fighting hydra in the tank but I think that’s probably unrelated to the other issues I’m having)  

The ottos eat algae exclusively- I’ve tried spinach, zucchini and algae wafers on them and they won’t touch it.

Ammonia- 0

Nitrite- 0

Nitrate- 0-10

Hardness- very hard (off the chart)

KH- 60-70

PH- between 6.4 and 6.8

Chlorine- 0

Lights on from 8am to 8 pm with an hour break in the middle

Temp- normally kept at 78 but this is a 2nd floor LA apartment and it got up to 82 overnight, I realize that’s too hot, trying to get it down now.