Stressed Tank Woes

Anjum

I've been doing a lot of lurking & searching & I see my problems are common. You guys are saints for fielding the same questions & issues over & over.. 

I moved my established 10 gallon a couple weeks ago, swapped an internal filter for a sponge filter & removed a pothos cutting (that had rooted into the gravel). Now my parameters have gone sideways & my betta is suffering. 

A few days ago when I tested, the KH was at 0, GH was at the highest level on the strips (upwards 180ppm), pH was 6.0 & nitrates were around 80, nitrites & ammonia 0. I did a 20% water change & added some neutral regulator & the levels were slightly improved. 

My test strips are old & I suspect inaccurate. I have the liquid ph, GH & KH tests; I have a master rest kit coming, should be here Friday. 

Last night, test strips showed Nitrates up to 100 ppm. This was a marked increase. Before I moved the tank, they were around 60. Liquid tests showed pH 6.5, KH 36 ppm & GH 161 ppm. Did another 20% wc & retested. 6.7 pH, kh same, GH 143ppm, nitrates 80 ppm. Did another 20% wc this morning but didn't have time to do all the tests. Just did a quick strip test but didn't see much conclusive change. 

I just picked up a used 5 gal w/ a hob. I also have a new sponge filter & air stone at home. Going to set up a triage tank when I get home in an hour. 

My betta had gotten fat & so I've been careful to feed him sparingly while still trying to get food to the 5 rasboras. But he's also gotten lethargic & lays on the bottom or in plants most of the time. He still has a good appetite though. I thought maybe just stress from the move, but now I see he's probably suffering from the poor parameters. Just last night I noticed some possible pinecone-ing in his scales on his side. 

I plan to get him moved to the 5 gal & start with mild salt treatments. Input on filtration? HOB, sponge or air stone alone w/ daily wc?