Crushed Coral vs Limestone?

On 4/3/2022 at 8:33 AM, JoeQ said:

Is there any advantages in using one over the other when trying to buffer KH only. Will using limestone buffer GH as well? 

Good question! I am not an expert here. Others on the forum can probably help out more. I use crushed coral in some tanks, have lots of limestone in one tank, and use shells from the outer banks in a few aquariums as well.

From what I understand, crushed coral raises KH. I am not sure about it’s affect on GH. We used some, for example, on each side in this tank when breeding Auratus…

59BCCD05-4F21-4CB5-95E6-DE00967EA8E8.jpeg.01b07743b1452fb311e6239c01e839e1.jpeg

You can also see some shells, which are a much slower release.

Some while later, breeding Acaras in this same tank here, the crushed coral has dispersed around the tank substrate…

96233C0C-65B4-4B11-9917-34DB28EB40B2.jpeg.1a82437e4a08e70b26f944162afd4b58.jpeg

The thing is that if you’re changing a lot of water, you’re not really experiencing the results of increased KH, but more or less just resetting water with soft water again abs again. Even after adding crushed coral, our parameters read…

61645DEE-B6DD-431C-BE90-C2F6D1593B79.jpeg.40fdda6f90de22dcf9bac060b7edb753.jpeg

We used some huge pieces of Texas Holey Rock (honeycomb limestone) in one tank…

3B33AD71-6D96-40B5-8895-38B265D06AEC.jpeg.2cf94bc2f4b5ede45b3857ea7b18fdc0.jpeg

But again, with frequent water changes, I’m not sure there is much of an effect. pH stays buoyantly high… otherwise, it’s not as much of an effect as you’d think.

My water has pretty much no kh, but the gh is good at 150ppm (my lava rocks may be buffering this). I've been using crushed coral to buffer kh but im looking for better options. Particularly for a more pleasing scape, that and it allows for more objects to plant plants on. 🤣