Not sure why my fish die

Cabj21

Hey guys first time posting on the forum. I had fish for a few years now and i haven’t had fish die on me for a few years now. Today I found a African cichlid dead at the bottom of the fish tank.  I usually just check the common water parameters. 

PH: 7.8

ammonia: 0

nitrite: 0

Nitrate: 0

today I got the GH and KH 

GH: is between 60-120

KH: Is between 80-120 

what do you guys think of my water? I am new in checking the gh and hk not sure what to look for. I don’t have any plants. I clean my canister filter every 3 to 4 weeks.

Thanks for your help.

Edited by Cabj21

• Administrators

the gh is may be a bit low, but in general cichlids are hardy and i've never seen it really matter. You've had success with them for years, I don't think today your water is that different than a few months ago. It hasn't been a problem and therefore I doubt it is the actual root cause. Typically when water parameters are a problem you see the problem in all the fish, not just one.

You mentioned cleaning your canister filter every 3-4 weeks. If this has been working for you than it's working.

My concerns are 1) how are you cleaning it and 2) you may be cleaning it too much.

Cory has made many videos, which i have learned a lot from. I used to do this with my canister filter so once I learned what I was doing was 'not the best' I changed my practices. I used to clean my canister filter spotless once a month with tap water with chloramine: the pre-filter sponges, the bio beads the baskets, housing and head. I had no idea I was killing all of the beneficial bacteria that was growing there.

I now clean it on every 4th water change, which is every other month for me as I try to change water about every 2 weeks. I have a nitrate problem due to keeping a 14inch common pleco alive until I re-home it.