Is my female multi ciclid guarding eggs?

M...

Though this particular female usually favors to hide behind the rock cave, she has been hanging out at the mouth of a shell. She will enter the shell, but not to frequently, but this is definitely unusual behavior for her. She will briefly leave her shell to feed, or hide if she feels threatened. She welcomes the male into her territory gladly. This is a new fish for me so I have very little experience. Thank you for all the help. 

Sorry for the bad quality photos my phone camera is far from ideal.

16437469780491917274155969124569.jpg

16437470246734567053000685004302.jpg

• Like 1

On 2/1/2022 at 1:20 PM, Beardedbillygoat1975 said:

Usually if there are eggs in there they stay in and fan them. It could be that there are fry but I usually see the female dart in and push them back in the shell at least for the first week or so. It could be she's trying to entice the male putting out a sign saying she's ready to breed. 

Oh very interesting! I have been noticing some tail waggs between the two hopefully there will be eggs in the near future. Thank you for the help

• Like 1

The tricky things with these fish is that a lot of times, when you are eagerly waiting for them to spawn,  there are fry in the tank already! The are very secretive and masters at hiding.

Sometimes, I'll walk by my tank and think, many why don't these things breed more? Then a few months later I'll be like HOLY MOLEY where did these all come from!

To me, personally, the key to success is having way more shells than you think you need. I keep the bottom of the tank covered, literally edge to edge, in shells, some piled on top of others.

I've seen pictures of this fish in the wild and the lake floor where they live is just thick in endless shells.