"Walstad" Saltwater Aquarium?

JaredL

I have a friend who has been struggling with his saltwater aquarium. I would like to be able to give him advice, but I have no knowledge of how these systems work(my only knowledge is regarding freshwater) . I've begun trying to educate myself with information online. However, everything I've read seems to be reliant on "brute force" to maintain their systems(eg. frequent water changes, additives, fancy equipment).

What I'm really hoping to find is a resource similar to "Ecology of the Planted Aquarium" by Diana Walstad. My goal is to understand the natural ecosystems of marine life and how to replicate that in an aquarium. I hope that by doing that my friend can create a low maintenance, healthy system.

If anybody could point me in the direction of a great scientific resource about this I would be very appreciative. Thanks!

My advice would be to start small and have patience. Saltwater aquariums don’t have to be high tech reef aquariums. You can also follow similar approaches as walstad for saltwater, I’m not sure if there is a resource specifically for it but I will describe it below: