Central American sharpnose puffer tank mates

Ram man

So this is my first time posting on the forum so I'm going to introduce myself first, I have 19 tanks setup in my bedroom, and I have 2 saltwater and working on my third and I'm trying to pick out tank mates for it. The main fish is going to be a central american sharpnose puffer. The tank is a 29 gallon and I want to do coral so I need reef safe fish. Thanks for any advice!

On 9/10/2021 at 5:11 PM, Ram man said:

That's what I was planning on doing, like getting a couple of normal ocelaris, and some diamond or watchman gobies

Normal ocerlaris are great and all, but have your heard of maroon lightnings? Definitely a dream saltwater fish of mine, and with a great looking puffer, why not go all out?

A sharpnose in a reef is going to be problematic. You're going to run into issues with the sharpnose attacking your clean upcrew overtime. That and they do pick at coral. Ontop of that a 29 is a bit small for them as well as other fish.

Edited by Tihshho
  • Like 1

On 9/10/2021 at 7:44 PM, Tihshho said:

A sharpnose in a reef is going to be problematic. You're going to run into issues with the sharpnose attacking your clean upcrew overtime. That and they do pick at coral. Ontop of that a 29 is a bit small for them as well as other fish.

I understand, so do you have any other suggestions? I've never had a saltwater tank this big before and don't know how to start stocking it

On 9/10/2021 at 9:00 PM, Ram man said:

I understand, so do you have any other suggestions? I've never had a saltwater tank this big before and don't know how to start stocking it

This is still in the realm of nano tanks for sw. Your best options are a pair of clowns, or some small gobies and tons of inverts.

On 9/10/2021 at 8:15 PM, Tihshho said:

This is still in the realm of nano tanks for sw. Your best options are a pair of clowns, or some small gobies and tons of inverts.