Setting up a Betta tank

Antic

Hey everyone! I am pretty new to this and decided to try to set up a Betta tank and I decided to go with API Quick Start, API Stress Coat+ as well as getting the API Freshwater Master Test Kit. I have the filter on and I am a little confused on getting the cycle started. I will be getting Lava Rock for the filter within two days (I do not have the fish yet) and I know that it will hep me in the process and in the future. I put the recommended amount from each bottle into the tank (5 US Gallons) and after a couple of days and the Ph is around 7.0-7.2, Ammonia is around .25ppm because it is a tad lime green but at some angles it looks like the regular Yellow 0ppm, 0ppm Nitrite and 10-20ppm of Nitrate. 

I do not know if the cycle has started or not... but I am pretty sure it has not started because I measured my regular tap water and it gave around the same readings of the Nitrate. Any tips?

Congrats and welcome to the hobby!!  Bettas are amazing and beautiful fish. This sounds like a good start! You knew what you were doing getting the testing kit first, and not the fish. It sounds like your cycle has not yet started.  The quick start provides beneficial bacteria, and I believe the stress coat is a water conditioner. You’ll need a source of ammonia to feed your bacteria colony. You could buy bottled ammonia or put in some fish food. 
you’ll know your tank is cycled when you see ammonia, then ammonia goes to zero and you’ll see nitrite, and then you’ll want to see nitrite and ammonia at zero and a higher nitrates reading.  This could take up to 4 weeks. (I’m not doing as good of a job explaining this as the youtubers do - Corey’s old video with the mnms is perfect)