Hello from Southern California!

SarayParay

Hello! 

I live in the San Gabriel Valley area and I am new to the hobby. I got introduced to it back in October 2019 when my daughter/husband won a male betta fish at a baby shower game. I was very upset as I did not want to be responsible for another living thing. I felt bad for the poor thing so we kept it and I spent like $100 on a tank kit, heater and food. As the weeks went by, I began caring a lot more for Golden (my daughter named him that) and the little guy grew in my heart. I began doing research to continue to have my little guy happy. It is how I began my journey! Fast forward to June 2020 and we lost Goldeen suddenly. I had no idea (at the time) why. My daughter was devastated so we got her another betta fish, this time a female named Seaking and a BN Placo (suggested by a friend). So I decided to do more research. I found out so much more and long story short I now have a 20 gallon and a 10 gallon. Seaking passed from Dropsy and I began doing more research and found "hardy" fish for me because I became enamored with the hobby and wanted fish but didn't want them dying. Soooo as of today I can say that the fish I bought in late June 2020 and early July 2020 are still alive and swimming! 🙂 Super happy. 

I want to continue expanding my knowledge and making my aquatic babies happy!

To add, I think Goldeen died because the previous day I did a thorough cleaning of his tank. I transferred him to a small bowl and cleaned the filter, heater, carbon filter, bio media and ornaments under tap water. Then I placed them back in and filled it up with bottled water and put him back in. After learning that kills off BB I was horrified and wish I would have turned back time to save my little babe. Usually I'd just clean the coarse filter and bio media (with tap water too :[) but I never cleaned the rest of the tank.

Anyways! Nice to be here! I will have a lot of questions for y'all so I hope I don't annoy you! ❤️