Limestone aquifer Liquid Eock

Jsteiner

Hi.  So happy to have the chance to post this question.   I am a beginner.  My 12 year old is really into learning about fish and I’ve joined him.  We are starting with a 20 gallon tank and going to learn from this before we jump up in size.  The issue is   We live off of a limestone aquifer well.  Our water is liquid rock.  It eats valves in our pipes.  We have a decent water treatment system with softener and an RO filter.  I can draw from any of these sources.  I know well water is ideal normally but I tested my gh and kh for hard and soft water   Hard water gh is well over what the API Max is at 320. Kh is well over max also.   Once the water goes through the softener gh is reduced to almost nothing but kh remains the same.   I have a lot of differing advice from fish stores and   I know I shouldn’t put African cichlids in a 20 gallon.    My hard water parameters look like brackish water if anything  pH is  consistent around 8.0   Which isnt a problem.  My question is what water to go with?  I’m open to whatever fish work best for the water and tank size. 

The simplest solution is to just use the water out of the tap and do guppy’s or shell dwellers or something like that if you have an RO unit you can probably keep whatever you want but you will need to mix the water before it goes in the aquarium 

what kind of tank are you looking for plants no plants community one species and so on there’s lots of options out there

Plants do just fine in hard water. Your pH will drop after being in the aquarium for a little while. I have this same problem with one of my tanks, it’s at my parents farm in the kids’ play room and I just keep mixed neocaridina shrimp, white cloud minnows, a hillstream loach, and snails. 

My live bearer tank is at my house and I have to add gh and kh back to it.  So, it’s a good thing to have. 

if you have an RO unit, you can mix the water to achieve exact results you like. 

• Love 1