Is it time to clean my sponge filter?

Hey there fellow fish hobbyists. 
I have another question, (it’s a hobby so I always get em 😉) how to know when I should clean the sponge. Not how but when. Ik how. Cory has a good way of showing it. This is my first time cleaning one, had it set up since oh maybe 4-5 months back, is that a really long time? Now this is a thing where people have their own opinions and suggestions but I would like a general idea if possible 🙂.

My 20g long is home to (for now) 5 panda corys.

I have a filter sponge from AC that is suited for 20-30 gallons if my memory serves me right. So pic below is it. Does it look dirty enough to clean? I have to say it is more dirty IRL then in pic. First time sponge guy here, used to be the HOB guy but not anymore.

TIA

-Whitecloud09 🙂

maybe a simple Q for you but first time sponger like mentioned.

Video I watched. 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qImy1PXdkvU&list=LL&index=1

448BF3CA-D2FF-47FD-AE67-A1F949E44B97.jpeg

577FFF5E-430D-4000-8B20-E47A8AD6718A.jpeg

7A49C3F1-491F-461E-B813-ED26BA6D0143.jpeg

4D78CC35-5A7F-4146-9E3C-6CC6C53A7E1E.jpeg

B35B7D37-19A1-4FB4-80DA-1E43C41C3050.jpeg

E2DC4A15-C9B4-443D-B7A2-1A3212B71E6E.jpeg

060DECAF-7B9A-460F-85DB-325E1A6B8762.jpeg

On 8/17/2024 at 3:56 PM, Whitecloud09 said:

Hey there fellow fish hobbyists. 
I have another question, (it’s a hobby so I always get em 😉) how to know when I should clean the sponge. Not how but when. Ik how. Cory has a good way of showing it. This is my first time cleaning one, had it set up since oh maybe 4-5 months back, is that a really long time? Now this is a thing where people have their own opinions and suggestions but I would like a general idea if possible 🙂.

My 20g long is home to (for now) 5 panda corys.