Pogostemon erectus

Anyone have any experience with Pogostemon erectus?  Setting up a new 10 gallon tank and got a tissue culture and this is my first time with this plant.  It's a low tech set up with very soft water because I'll be housing only a pair of German Blue Rams to attempt breeding.  

PH - 6.6 kH - 1 gH -2 Temp-82

Substrate is activ-flora black sand.  Almost identical to eco complete but finer particles closer to sand.  I loaded Seachem flourish root tabs around the areas I planted.  Tank is just set up today so trying to get some advice before it cycles.  

I used straight RO water remineralized slightly.  Does it do ok with moderate lighting and no CO2?  Is it a heavy root feeder (hopefully)?  I don't want to be doing a lot of water column ferts because I'll be trying to maintain a low TDS for breeding purposes.

Posted (edited)

I would definitely put Erectus into the CO2 needed category but you may find some success without CO2. Running a planted tank at 82 degrees also increases failure rate. Erectus likes lower Nitrates in the water column and low pH. I would increase GH to the 4-6 degree range.

Edited by Mmiller2001

On 5/17/2024 at 4:23 PM, Mmiller2001 said:

I would definitely put Erectus into the CO2 needed category but you may find some success without CO2. Running a planted tank at 82 degrees also increases failure rate. Erectus likes lower Nitrates in the water column and low pH. I would increase GH to the 4-6 degree range.

Temperature is going to be even higher for the rams.  I plan on 84-85 degrees eventually.  Do you know of any low tech plants that will do ok at higher temps?  Lighting is moderate.  I'm not going any higher on gH either so I guess I'll see how it does there.

On 5/17/2024 at 2:30 PM, DBrown918 said: