Responsible Guppy Ownership.

iMax

First post here! I am an amateur guppy breeder in the sense that I bought a breeding pair of black Moscows 6 months ago and left them in a community tank with about 8.0 ph water! Had no idea at the time but they spawned more than could be eaten by the community and I have about 12 females and 7 males that have been separated. I just ordered 5 fry of Red dragon guppies from an unknown seller. I'm raising them up to live with the female population to hopefully broaden all of their genes and sell some to my lfs. Any tips/ideas on what they'll look like? 

• Like 1

On 4/21/2024 at 1:07 PM, iMax said:

First post here! I am an amateur guppy breeder in the sense that I bought a breeding pair of black Moscows 6 months ago and left them in a community tank with about 8.0 ph water! Had no idea at the time but they spawned more than could be eaten by the community and I have about 12 females and 7 males that have been separated. I just ordered 5 fry of Red dragon guppies from an unknown seller. I'm raising them up to live with the female population to hopefully broaden all of their genes and sell some to my lfs. Any tips/ideas on what they'll look like? 

Welcome aboard @iMax

• Like 2

They will end up being mutt guppies and will sell for very cheap compared to other specific colors. These colors are the end result of selectively breeding, so even tho any babies look like dragons or moscows, it wouldn't be fair to sell them this way because genetically now they are not selectively bred anymore.

That being said, if you don't aim for money and can find places that would take your mutts to sell for money/rehome/store credit etc., you may end up having very cool looking ones. And probably healthier ones too. Usually breeding one specific genetic over and over again is not good for health issues anyway. Mixing two different fish would probably lead to healthier babies compared to one that has been overbred for ages to have this specific look.