Is this test strip inaccurate???

I won't beat around the bush. I am a total newbie with fishkeeping. 

My tank is 30 gallons, and has been cycling for nearly two months. My city's tap water does not use chloramine, only chlorine, so I let my water process for two weeks with an airstone to remove chlorine. I did not use a dechlorinator or any water treatments at all. 

My substrate is clay, organic soil, leaf litter, peat moss, and lava rock. On top of that is sand and pebbles. My tank has a piece of driftwood and several red alder branches. I have an amazon sword plant and ludwigia ovalis - no other plants. My tank uses a sponge filter. 

I have tested my water straight from the tap, here were the results:

nitrite 0

nitrate 0

chlorine 1.2

total alkalinity 120ppm

dKH 12

dGH 4

pH ~7.8

Then, I tested my water from my tank. I had been going to my local big-brand pet store to have my water tested, as I hadn't owned test strips yet. However today I received my strips (after three weeks of shipping and delays)!

Here were the results of my tank water:

nitrite 0

nitrate ~5

chlorine 0

total alkalinity 80ppm 

dGH 5.5

dKH 14

pH 7.8

So basically, my water seems overall pretty hard. However, the GH seems weird to me. While I know they don't determine each other, pH, GH and KH typically go hand-in-hand. My kH is high, but my gH is relatively 'neutral' and middle-of-the-line. Is this normal? Are my test strips accurate?? 

I haven't done much other than feed my mystery snail homemade snello and crushed eggshells for calcium, could this really have raised my dKH and dGH to that noticeable extent? How did my alkalinity decrease so much?? 
I am a total newbie, please explain things! I do understand science-y things but you're also welcome to dumb it down too... thanks everyone!

On 3/24/2024 at 8:13 PM, clownbaby said:

I won't beat around the bush. I am a total newbie with fishkeeping.