26 Gallon Tank Planted Journal

This tank info was moved from the intro thread to here.

Hi, I’m new to the hobby and just got to the point of adding fish 2 days ago! It’s been good so far other than the  two of the corys have passed. Our water parameters are amonia 0 ppm, 0 nitrites, ~15 nitrates and ph of ~7.7. The water temp is 78 degrees and I dropped it to 77 degrees after the second death and reading they like it a little colder. Our tank is planted shown below. I fed them both days about 20 or so beta fish pellets and pressed them below the surface to get them lower. I’m going to get some blood worms tomorrow or live black worms I think it was called. 

What am I doing wrong? I have a pic of the dead fish if that would help. 

IMG_1342.jpeg

On 3/20/2024 at 9:28 PM, Qnash said:

This tank info was moved from the intro thread to here.

Hi, I’m new to the hobby and just got to the point of adding fish 2 days ago! It’s been good so far other than the  two of the corys have passed. Our water parameters are amonia 0 ppm, 0 nitrites, ~15 nitrates and ph of ~7.7. The water temp is 78 degrees and I dropped it to 77 degrees after the second death and reading they like it a little colder. Our tank is planted shown below. I fed them both days about 20 or so beta fish pellets and pressed them below the surface to get them lower. I’m going to get some blood worms tomorrow or live black worms I think it was called. 

What am I doing wrong? I have a pic of the dead fish if that would help. 

IMG_1342.jpeg

IMG_1340.jpeg

IMG_1361.png.c42ba9a7e7aa1638b443dcbb4a992fe7.png

Edited by Qnash
Picture did not load

Looks like you're off to a pretty solid start. That a nice setup you have there.

Can you share a little more detail like:

What size is the tank?

What fish do you have?

20 pellets sounds a bit excessive but the parameters you shared look ok. It could be shock from moving or it could be over feeding.

On 3/20/2024 at 10:13 PM, Schuyler said: