Switching from treated tap to remineralized RO?

Kerri

I am new to the shrimp keeping hobby and have watched my 15 shrimp dwindle to 11 in a few weeks. (3 gallon tank seasoned for 2 months, shrimp introduced to tank 2nd week of Feb.). It looks to be molting issues. I am contemplating switching from my treated tap water to remineralizing RO water using Salty Shrimp. My question is, how do I go about switching? I realize I am not going do an entire tank water change, so…how much and what do I use as a stability point with each water change since my tap water in the tank already has it’s own pH, gH, and kH? 

Do you have measurements of your tap water? Gh kh ph. That would help figure this out. 

On 3/7/2024 at 9:08 PM, Kerri said:

treated tap water

Treated how. Softened? Could you get a gh kh ph reading before it gets treated. That gets us all the information. We’d hate to give you bad advice without knowing all the information.

and your shrimp type would be good too.

As for treated, I’m referring to dechlorinated. 

the parameters are below:

On 3/7/2024 at 10:59 PM, Tony s said:

Do you have measurements of your tap water? Gh kh ph. That would help figure this out. 

Treated how. Softened? Could you get a gh kh ph reading before it gets treated. That gets us all the information. We’d hate to give you bad advice without knowing all the information.

and your shrimp type would be good too.

pH - 7.8
Ammonia - 0
Nitrites - 0
Nitrates - 5.0
kH - 6
gH - 18

If I start to use RO & remineralize, I’m confused about how to do it slowly and getting the right parameters with the water I already have in the tank.