Mystery Slimy, White Substance in Tank with Fin Rot Infected Betta

cbohn

I have a mystery slimy, white substance in my tank that showed up a couple of days ago.  As my fish has increasingly severe fin rot, which I have been trying to treat for quite some time - to no avail, I'm a bit on edge about it.  Does anyone have any idea of what this is and, or how to stop it if it is not healthy?  From my research I am assuming it is a bacterial build up, but I am no expert in this field - hence my failure to lower my tanks PH and cure my fishes fin rot using a variety of medications.  If anyone has any advice for those topics as well, it would be greatly appreciated.  I've posted previously about my PH and fin rot issues and even though I got some help on it, the ideas that were suggested were ineffective.  I just want to help my little buddy and am hoping that I can save his life.

IMG_9910.jpg

IMG_9911.jpg

IMG_9915.jpg

IMG_9916.jpg

It is hard to tell from the photo what the white stuff is--I almost think I see a hydra (harmless) on top of the filter. 

Your water, however, is super hard and high pH. That is probably contributing to the betta fin rot. 

Easy fix would be to do some gradual partial water changes with distilled water. I would aim at replacing 1g every other day with distilled water and keep testing. Once you get below a pH of 8 (preferably lower), I would try to hold it there, and see if the fin rot improves. Betta pH range is 6.5-7.5, and they prefer softer water. They can adapt up a little, but your water is off your test range.

• Like 1

9 hours ago, Brandy said:

It is hard to tell from the photo what the white stuff is--I almost think I see a hydra (harmless) on top of the filter. 

Your water, however, is super hard and high pH. That is probably contributing to the betta fin rot.