Brand new tank questions

its_colie94

Hi everyone! So as I am new to the hobby and do not want to do too much too fast with my tank, I have a couple of questions. My ammonia levels and nitrite levels are 0 but my nitrates were not climbing so I followed a post from aquarium co op to get nitrates up to 50ppm, see if it climbs after 3-4 days and then complete a water change. Currently we are somewhere between 25-40ppm. After doing so we got some algae growth but I am wondering when to complete a water change. Everyone is saying something different and we are in our first week of set up. 

levels are:

ammonia: 0ppm

nitrites: 0ppm

Nitrates: 25-50ppm

chlorine: 0ppm

ph: 8.0

gh: 16 degrees

kh: 8 degrees

20g aquarium planted with about 12ish plants

image.jpg.977afb9bbeefe3d4ff65d317a61f72d4.jpg

anything helps thank you! 

Edited by its_colie94
looks
  • Like 3

Welcome! 

First, you're always going to get multiple answers, because a) there are many ways to get from A to Z, and b) different folks will prefer different routes based on their ability, preferences, resources, limitations, etc. 

There are some key factors that will determine how fast your tank "cycles". 

- what definition of "cycled" are you using?

- what substrate do you have?

- what kind of filtration do you have?

- live plants or no?

- fish in or fishless? 

I'm not asking these per se, but more pointing out that all these variables and combos of variables are what lead to all the different and varying instructions you've read. 

Personally, based on what I'm seeing in the info you've provided, and your pic, I think you're good to go. Do a few water changes and see how the system responds. If you've been adding an ammonia source, keep doing so until you add fish. 

Edited by TOtrees
  • Like 1