Hello from Medellin, Colombia

My name is Michael and my spouse is Gloria (she is the Colombian).

Currently we have no aquarium because we are searching to rent a 3 bedroom house. Once we are successful we plan to get an aquarium.

I am a retired programmer for the Department of Defense and moved here to live on my retirement. Between the cost of food, rent, and medical I can live on only my SSA money. Yeah.

We plan on setting up a 180 aquarium with a sump for discus, tetras, and hopefully Hillstream Loach.

• Like 1

I'm going to be keeping discus again soon, but for my experience make sure to keep your discus hot! Not extremely hot but 82-86 with 84 being the sweet spot. Unfortunately, hillstream loach and discus will not work as the water needed for each is different, however a good replacement would be sterbai corydoras, or a bn pleco. Remember to keep the water very oxygenated with aeration! Tetras can be a bit challenging with discus, I kept rummy nose and cardinal tetras with my discus at one point, but do know that you will have to grow them up and replace them often as high heat tends to reduce their life span. Also with discus, if you are getting them young less then 4 inches, it's highly recommended to have a separate grow-out tank and grow them at least 4 inches or bigger and then introduce them into main tank as small discus tend to grow the fastest so wc and good food is highly recommended! Good luck!

On 5/25/2023 at 8:10 PM, Chick-In-Of-TheSea said:

Welcome!  You’re in the right place! Check out the aquarium co op channel on YouTube. There are tons of videos on there with lots of great information! Discus tend to be the most high maintenance freshwater fish. Something to keep in mind!

Maybe @DiscusLover can tell us what a normal day is like maintaining the discus tank. 

Thank you. I'm actually in the opposite direction. I watched the videos on YouTube and in one he mentioned a post here on the forum.

• Love 1