Fin rot or tail biting?

EricksonAquatics

A bit of a newbie here!

I have one betta in a 10g tank with one nerite snail. The tank is heated (76F) and has plenty of live plants. I noticed about a week ago that my betta has a few spots in his tail that look a little rough. I can’t tell if they’re chunks taken out by biting or fin rot. Water parameters are normal (Ammonia 0ppm, Nitrite 0ppm, Nitrate 30ppm) and water changes once a week. He cycles between Xtreme Betta Pellets, Hikari Vibra Bites and Freeze Dried Bloodworms. I’ve had him 5 months now and no problems until this. 
Do you guys think this is fin rot or tail biting?

I can provide more pics if needed. Tank light was off at the time😂

Please and thank you!!

IMG_5349.jpeg

IMG_5348.jpeg

IMG_5345.jpeg

IMG_5343.jpeg

Look like he could have ripped his fin on something in the tank I would check for any sharp pieces of hard scrape if there's nothing it could him biting his own fins which is not  uncommon in long finned bettas @Emry E

• 3 weeks later...

Hi again - 

my bettas fins began looking a little more rough (not sure if he was biting his tail or if it really was fin rot) but I did a full dose of maracyn (per the instructions on the box) just to be safe. Just barely finished that course a day or two ago and within the last few days his tail has gotten worse 😞 The water is still clean (parameters are great) and I can't find anything that would be causing him large amounts of stress.

Should I dose maracyn again or try aquarium salt? Maybe some catappa leaves?

IMG-5792.jpg

IMG-5795.jpg

On 5/26/2023 at 7:46 PM, Emry E said:

Hi again -