Angelfish Male vs. Female, Spawning, Hatching, and Raising Fry

AllFishNoBrakes

What’s up everyone?!

While I’m no expert, I’ve definitely learned a thing or two regarding Angelfish in the past couple of years I’ve been growing out Angels, spawning them, hatching eggs, and raising fry. While this is not a comprehensive list, these are the things that work for me and the tips I wish I had when I bought my first Angelfish. 

Males vs. Females:

-I wish there was a definitive list in “X is definitely a male and Y is definitely a female”. I know that Dean gets hit up all the time with the “can you sex my juvenile Angelfish?!” and the answer is basically, no. I can’t, Dean can’t, nobody can really say with 100% certainty whether your juvenile Angelfish is male or female. However, here’s what I’ve noticed with my personal fish. 

-The males I know I have do NOT have nuchal humps. Like, basically none at all. However, in my experience, males are generally bigger than females. 
-The known females I have don’t necessarily have characteristics separating them from the males, but I have noticed that my females tend to be smaller. 

-When it comes to selecting males or females from a store, I recommend purchasing a group and letting them pair off naturally. Even with a couple years under my belt I wouldn’t feel comfortable looking at juveniles and going, “yup, that one is a male and that other one is a female so bag those up for me”. Instead, buy a group of 4-5, grow them out, let them pair off, and then when they start spawning you’ll know 100% which is male and which is female (at least in the breeding pair you now have). 

I snapped some pictures of both my male and female Panda Angelfish tonight, and then an hour later they were spawning. Let’s take a look:

80E3A4E0-A921-4B09-9032-E3262DEB2117.jpeg