Free Plants Have Black Beard Algae, How To Treat?

Hello, everyone!

I recently received 5 anubias plants completely for free from someone who was breaking down a tank! The problem is the largest anubias of the bunch has a few small tufts of BBA. The good news is that I have been keeping these plants in an empty quarantine tank, so they pose no threat to my display tanks right now. I was also able to trim the affected leaves off, and the other leaves show no clear signs of BBA. Meanwhile, the smaller plants have showed no signs of BBA at all, just brown diatom algae.

Do I need to take any futher action before adding the plants to the tank, or was trimming off the affected leaves good enough? Should I assume all the plants in that aquarium are "infected", and if so, how can I treat them so that I don't introduce BBA to my display tanks? I have heard about hydrogen peroxide as a method to remove it, but I'm not sure what to do.

This is my first time encountering BBA and I have heard the horror stories so I would prefer to stop the problem before it starts!

Reverse respiration!

I should elaborate on that: the short version is that ordinary seltzer water will kill algae and any other hitchhikers without harming plants (indeed, they get a boost) and with no poison or residue. You should read the whole thing, because it's amazing, but the how-to is right up front, so don't be deterred by the length.

Edited by Rube_Goldfish
Added elaboration
  • Thanks 3

On 1/5/2023 at 4:35 PM, Rube_Goldfish said:

Reverse respiration!

I should elaborate on that: the short version is that ordinary seltzer water will kill algae and any other hitchhikers without harming plants (indeed, they get a boost) and with no poison or residue. You should read the whole thing, because it's amazing, but the how-to is right up front, so don't be deterred by the length.